Follow your "ROUTE"
Retour aux actualités

11/14 - 19h09

Gabart wins IMOCA 60 Class adds to Vendee Globe win

This Friday 14 November at 17:38:55hrs TU/13:38:55h local François Gabart broke the finish line off Pointe a Pitre to win the IMOCA Class of the tenth Route du Rhum-Destination solo Transatlantic Race from Saint Malo to Gaudeloupe. The solo skipper of Macif took 12 days 4 hours 38 minutes and 55 seconds for the theoretical course of 3542 miles.

He sets a new IMOCA class record for the course, beating the 2006 mark of Roland Jourdain (12 d 11h 58m) by 7h 20m 3s.
He actually sailed 3963 miles at an average speed of 13,54kts. He has lead the IMOCA class since Cape Frehel, pursued always by Jeremie Beyou (Maitre Coq).
Gabart becomes the first skipper since Michel Desjoyeaux in 2002 to win both the Vendee Globe and the Route du Rhum, but he is the first to win both titles in the IMOCA 60 class.

Autres actualités


 Entries Are Open

Entries Are Open

Long awaited by skippers, boat and team owners, stakeholders and sponsors alike the Notice of Race for the 40th anniversary Route du Rhum-Destination Guadeloupe was published and made available on Tuesday 24th October. The official document drawn up and published by OC Sport Pen Duick, the organisers of the historic event, formally opens the entry registration process and announces the opening dates of the 12,000 m2 race village in Saint Malo. The village will be open from Wednesday 24th October and stays open until after the start on Sunday November 4th.


Sir Robin's In The Pink on Grey Power, finished third!

Sir Robin's In The Pink on Grey Power, finished third!

Sir Robin Knox-Johnston finishes third in Rhum Class in La Route du Rhum-Destination Guadeloupe Solo Transatlantic Race. Hours from the finish line, when he was locked in a tense final battle with Italian course record holder for his class Andrea Mura, doing all he could to steal second, Britain's Sir Robin Knox-Johnston, 75, pronounced that he would be simply 'ecstatic' if he were to finish third in the Rhum Class of La Route du Rhum-Destination Guadeloupe, the 3542 miles solo race from Saint-Malo, France to Guadeloupe in the French West Indies.