Follow your "ROUTE"
Retour aux actualités

11/06 - 15h11

Bob Escoffier Airlifted Off Groupe Guisnel Off Cape Finisterre

At 1255hrs CET (1155hrs TU) this Thursday, November 6 the distress beacon of the modified Sydney 60 monohull Guisnel Group of Bob Escoffier, the Saint Malo skipper who is racing in the Rhum class of La Route du Rhum-Destination Guadeloupe was triggered.
CROSS immediately contacted the Race Director of La Route du Rhum-Destinationan Guadeloupe.

Benjamin Hardouin, skipper of the monohull Krit'R V, who was nearby was alerted and he made contact with the Escoffier who said that he had suffered a major water ingress, the cause of which is not established.
At the same time the tug Sar Gavia which was on the way to recover the damaged trimaran Olmix was close to Escoffier. A helicopter was dispatched to the zone. Bob Escoffier was safely airlifted off the boat and has been taken to the base in Vivero.

Autres actualités


Absolute Maximum!

Absolute Maximum!

All time record 122 entries for the 40th Anniversary Route du Rhum-Destination Guadeloupe ! Although the maxiumum entry quota for the 40th anniversary Route du Rhum - Destination Guadeloupe was set initially at 100 boats as soon as registration opened in October 2017 it very soon became evident that demand was outstripping supply. And so by January 31st, the number of entries increased to 120. A few days after the official closing of registration the record entry was announced for this 40th year anniversary edition On November 4, 2018 there will be the biggest ever number of solo racers setting off from  from Saint-Malo heading for Pointe-à-Pitre in Guadeloupe. Fittingly this is an historic number for a legendary race.


YEMA becomes the official timekeeper of the Route du Rhum-Destination Guadeloupe 2018

YEMA becomes the official timekeeper of the Route du Rhum-Destination Guadeloupe 2018

OC Sport Pen Duick, the owner and organiser of the Route du Rhum-Destination Guadeloupe 2018, is pleased to announce that the iconic French sports watchmaker YEMA is to be the official timekeeper for the race.